Drivers Education FAQ
Where do I go to enroll in the online class?
Please use the following link to enroll in our online class:
The cost of the online class is $125. This does include the written permit test. You can take the permit test in our office after completing the class.
Students must complete all modules for the class and spend at least 30 hours on it. There is a final exam that you must pass with a score of 80% of higher to officially complete the course. The course must be completed within 180 days. You will receive your completion statement for the class within 48 hours of completion of the course.
When can my child take driver education?
14 years and 6 months - This is the Colorado State Law minimum age. However, we find it is best if your student is closer to 15 when they take the class.
Do you give the Permit Test in class?
Yes, if the student is within 30 days of turning 15 or is already 15 or older.
If the student is outside of this parameter they can take the test at the DMV or at Anshor, by appointment.
Online students can take the written test at the DMV upon completion of the Online course, or at Anshor, by appointment.
All students must go to the DMV in order to get their Learner's Permit issued.
Does taking this class save me money on insurance?
Check with your insurance company but many underwriters will give a Driver Education Discount. This discount is good for many years, often past college age. (In many cases the savings pays for the cost of our program after the first year of having your insurance.)
Even if your current company does not give a discount, you may change companies at a later date to one that does offer a discount. We encourage students to hold on to their certificates for many years for this reason!
How many hours of class time do they get?
30 Class Hours
We offer Saturday classes when school is in session and weekday classes in summer and during school breaks.
Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 2:30 pm (Summers and Spring Break weeks)
Saturdays 8:00 am - 2:30 pm (5 Saturdays during School year)
Regarding the 30 Hour Schedule: This is a Mandate by the State of Colorado - we adhere to their rules and regulations. Students must make up hours missed in the next scheduled session. Please choose your schedule wisely. Call if you have questions or concerns so we can help you!
Do you accept cash apps like Venmo?
We do not accept payments via Venmo or any other digital type app. We accept credit/debit cards, checks - only for class and lessons, not drive tests, or cash
What is your refund policy?
Anshor Driving School strives to offer you the highest level of service, the best cars, and quality facilities. We honor our commitments to you and expect our customers/students to do the same. This level of commitment to the community requires us to have a no-refund policy. That means that once you have paid and registered for education/training at Anshor Driving School, there will be absolutely no refunds, regardless of the reason, and no transfer of tuition, and no credit toward other services.
If you cancel the day of your appointment for a behind-the-wheel lesson or do not show for that lesson, you will have to pay a $30 fee.
Please note that all driving must be completed within one year of receiving your permit. If not completed, the driving lessons are forfeited.
We appreciate your support and hope that you use and enjoy the education you paid for and we want you to have for the safety of all of us. I know you will find the time valuable.
What is the number for the DMV?
Greeley: 970-352-5845 2320 Reservoir Road
Loveland: 970-667-7247 118 E. 29th Street
Alamosa: 719-589-4274 715 6th Street
Durango: 970-382-7078 98 Everett St. Suite A
La Junta: 719-384-2801 13 W. 3rd Street
How long has Anshor been in business?
Over 25 years! Duane Anderson taught Driver Education at Greeley West H.S and Central H.S. for eight years prior to opening Anshor Driving School in 1994.
Why should we choose Anshor for our child?
We are a company that cares about the safety of your child. We stress defensive driving techniques and theories throughout our classroom course and then put those into practice when we are behind the wheel with our students. Our instructors genuinely care about each student's safety.
Some Driver's Education companies sit students down and just have them read the manual and do work sheets all week. That is not how we teach. We instruct students using up to date teaching techniques, group work and interactive meaningful dialogue to engage them in what is about to be a huge next step in their lives. We strongly believe your student should be a leader once they leave our classroom - to wear their seatbelts, not use their cell phones in the car and be mindful of distracted driving as well as refrain from alcohol with vehicles.
Anshor Driving School has been a coalition member of and works closely with Drive Smart Weld County for over 20 years.
Anshor believes in the Graduated Licensing Laws that have helped to make Weld County a safer place for our teens and actively promotes the GDL laws.
Teaching our students to be good defensive drivers is a passion that runs deep with our entire team. That is what we are here for!
I want to test for my license. When can I do this?
if you are a minor (under the age of 18) you can test AFTER you have held your permit for one full year. (365 Days)
You may NOT test early. Minors must look at the date of issue on their permit and test one year later on that date or after.
Colorado State Law will not allow early testing. Please do not ask.
Schedule your drive test with Anshor - Our skilled Examiners love to see the growth in our students over the year - from classroom to Drive Test!